Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can usually be heard before services and in celebration of church festivals and royal occasions.

See the Abbey bells page for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

October

Monday, 3rd October 2022
The Judges' Service
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 12.30 pm following the annual service

Tuesday, 4th October 2022
The Lord Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 8th October 2022
The fiftieth anniversary of the Prayer Book Society
the Abbey bells are rung following the Choral Holy Communion at about noon

Monday, 10th October 2022
Alastair Putt
the bells of St Margaret's Church will be rung from 1.00 pm, in memoriam Alastair Putt, composer and former member of the choir of St Margaret's Church

Tuesday, 11th October 2022
Trees for Life
The Abbey bells will be rung at approximately 1.00 pm following the special service

Thursday, 13th October 2022
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
a full peal is rung by the Westminster Abbey Company of Ringers from 1.00 pm, and the Abbey bells are also rung following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Sunday, 16th October 2022
The Dedication of Westminster Abbey, 1269
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 4.00 pm, following Evensong

November

Tuesday, 1st November 2022
All Saints' Day
the Abbey bells are rung at about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

Wednesday, 2nd November 2022
The Commemoration of the Faithful Departed (All Souls' Day)
the Abbey bells are rung half-muffled following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Thursday, 10th November 2022
The Opening of the Field of Remembrance
The bells of St Margaret's church are rung half-muffled following the ceremony at about noon

Sunday, 13th November 2022
Remembrance Sunday
The Abbey bells will be rung half-muffled from noon

Monday, 14th November 2022
The Birthday of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

December

Sunday, 25th December 2022
Christmas Day
The bells of Westminster are rung at about 11.45 am, following the Sung Eucharist of Christmas Day

January

Friday, 6th January 2023
The Epiphany of Our Lord
the Abbey bells are rung following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Monday, 9th January 2023
The Birthday of Catherine, Princess of Wales
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

February

Thursday, 2nd February 2023
The Presentation of Christ in the Temple (Candlemas)
following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

March

Monday, 13th March 2023
Commonwealth Day
the Abbey bells are rung following the Commonwealth Day Observance at about 4.00 pm

Saturday, 25th March 2023
The Annunciation of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
the Abbey bells are rung at noon