Skip to main content

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

bell-chamber.jpg

 

Bell ringing calendar

April

Tuesday, 23rd April 2019
Birthday of Prince Louis of Cambridge
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 25th April 2019
ANZAC Day
following the noon service

Monday, 29th April 2019
St George’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Tuesday, 30th April 2019
St Mark’s Day (transferred)
following the 5.00 pm Evensong

May

Thursday, 2nd May 2019
Birthday of HRH Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 15th May 2019
Florence Nightingale
following the noon service

Friday, 17th May 2019
Centenary of women in policing
following the noon service

Monday, 20th May 2019
Charter Day
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 23rd May 2019
Westminster Hospital
following the noon service

Thursday, 30th May 2019
Ascension Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

June

Sunday, 2nd June 2019
Coronation Day
from 12.30 pm

Saturday, 8th June 2019
The Sovereign’s Official Birthday
From noon

Sunday, 9th June 2019
Day of Pentecost
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Monday, 10th June 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 20th June 2019
Corpus Christi
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Friday, 21st June 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Monday, 24th June 2019
The Birth of St John the Baptist
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Friday, 28th June 2019
Eve of St Peter's Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

July

Wednesday, 3rd July 2019
Election Day, Westminster School
From 11.00 am

Sunday, 7th July 2019
Civic Sunday 
Following the 11.00 am Matins

Wednesday, 17th July 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cornwall
From 1.00 pm

Monday, 22nd July 2019
Birthday of Prince George of Cambridge
from 1.00 pm

August

Thursday, 15th August 2019
Blessed Virgin Mary
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Thursday, 15th August 2019
Birthday of HRH The Princess Royal
subsumed into ringing for the Blessed Virgin Mary

September

Sunday, 15th September 2019
Anniversary of the Battle of Britain
Following the 11.00 am service

Saturday, 21st September 2019
St Matthew’s Day
following the 3.00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 29th September 2019
St Michael and All Angels
following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

October

Monday, 7th October 2019
The Judges’ Service
Following the 11.00 am service

Sunday, 13th October 2019
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

Tuesday, 15th October 2019
750th anniversary of the Dedication of Westminster Abbey
before and after the noon service

Friday, 18th October 2019
St Luke’s Day
Following the 5:00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 20th October 2019
Dedication of Westminster Abbey
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 20th October 2019
Evensong attended by The Lord Mayor of Westminster
following the 3.00 pm Evensong

The biggest challenge we face is maintaining such a large physical collection of material within a historic building – believe it or not, there’s just not enough space for it all.

spacer

Matthew - Keeper of the Muniments

Twitter logo Tweet this