Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can usually be heard before services and in celebration of church festivals and royal occasions.

See the Abbey bells page for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

February

Wednesday, 28th February 2024
The Right Honourable The Lord Morris of Aberavon KG PC KC
the bells of St Margaret's Church will be rung at about 1.00 pm following a service of thanksgiving for the life and work of The Right Honourable The Lord Morris of Aberavon KG PC KC

March

Friday, 1st March 2024
St David's Day
the Abbey bells will be rung for St David's Day following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

Monday, 11th March 2024
Commonwealth Day
the Abbey bells are rung following the Commonwealth Day Observance at about 4.00 pm

Monday, 18th March 2024
St Patrick's Day
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung for St Patrick's Day (transfered) following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

Sunday, 31st March 2024
Easter Day
following the Sung Eucharist at about 11.45 am

April

Friday, 5th April 2024
Wedding
St Margaret's bells will be rung at about 3.45 pm following a wedding

Monday, 8th April 2024
The Annunciation of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
the Abbey bells are rung at about 6.00 pm, following the Sung Eucharist

Monday, 22nd April 2024
Service of Thanksgiving for Roger Greenhalgh
the bells of St Margeret's Church will be rung at a bout noon following the Service of Thanksgiving for the life and work of Roger Greenhalgh

Tuesday, 23rd April 2024
St George's Day
the Abbey bells are rung for St George's Day following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

Thursday, 25th April 2024
St Mark's Day and Anzac Day
the Abbey bells are rung following the Anzac Day service at about 1.00 pm, with ringing for St Mark's Day subsumed

May

Thursday, 2nd May 2024
Baron Rowe-Beddoe
St Margaret's bells will be rung at about noon following the service of thanksgiving for the life and work of David Rowe-Beddoe, Baron Rowe-Beddoe

Monday, 6th May 2024
Coronation Day
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at 1.00 pm to mark the first anniversary of the Coronation of His Majesty King Charles III

Wednesday, 8th May 2024
Sir Stirling Moss OBE
the Abbey bells will be rung at about noon following the Service of Thanksgiving for Sir Stirling Moss OBE

Thursday, 9th May 2024
Ascension Day
the Abbey bells are rung following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Sunday, 19th May 2024
The Day of Pentecost
the Abbey bells are rung at about 11.45 am following the Sung Eucharist

Tuesday, 21st May 2024
Charter Day, 1560
the Abbey bells are rung from 1.00 pm to mark the anniversary of the refounding of Westminster Abbey by Elizabeth I as the Collegiate Church of St Peter at Westminster

Thursday, 30th May 2024
Corpus Christi
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 6.00 pm, following the Sung Eucharist in thanksgiving for the insitution of Holy Communion

June

Monday, 10th June 2024
The Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 15th June 2024
Official Birthday of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey will be rung from noon

Friday, 21st June 2024
The Birthday of His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Friday, 28th June 2024
Eve of St Peter, apostle, martyr, and patron of Westminster Abbey
the Abbey bells will be rung from about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

July

Sunday, 7th July 2024
Civic Sunday
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about noon following Civic Matins

Wednesday, 17th July 2024
The Birthday of HM Queen Camilla
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 20th July 2024
St Margaret of Antioch
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

August

Thursday, 15th August 2024
The Blessed Virgin Mary
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist