Flag days

The two magnificent west towers, above the Great West Door, were the last major construction work to be carried out on the Abbey, constructed from Portland stone between 1722 and 1745 to a design by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

On top of the north tower sits a flag pole on which the Abbey flies flags - of the Commonwealth Nations, the Flag of St Peter, the Abbey Flag, the Union Flag, the Flags of the National Saints, the Royal Air Force Flag, and the Royal Standard.

The West Towers of Westminster Abbey with the Abbey flag flying

 The Flag of St Peter

Flag of St Peter

Red with a pair of Golden Cross Keys, together with the Ring of St Edward the Confessor. This flag combines the symbols of the two Patron Saints of the Abbey: the ring of St Edward the Confessor, king of England 1043–1066 and founder of the Abbey in 1065; and the keys of St Peter, keeper of the keys to the kingdom of heaven, after whom the Abbey was named when it was re-founded as a Collegiate Church in 1579. It is flown on most Church Festivals, such as the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christmas Day.


The Abbey Flag

Abbey flag

This bears the coat of arms of Westminster Abbey, and is flown during a State Visit on the day when the Head of State visits the Grave of The Unknown Warrior.


Other Flags

The Union Flag is flown on Remembrance Sunday.

The Flags of the National Saints; George, Andrew, and Patrick, are flown on their respective days, and the Welsh Dragon Flag is flown on St David's Day.

The Royal Air Force Flag is flown on the Commemoration of the Battle of Britain.

The Royal Standard is flown whenever the Sovereign is within the Abbey or its Precincts. It is also flown whenever the Sovereign opens Parliament, a privilege granted by King Edward VII.

A National Flag is flown on the day when the High Commission of a Commonwealth member state is represented at Evensong.


Flag day calendar

August

Friday, 6th August 2021
The Transfiguration of Our Lord
St Peter flag

Sunday, 15th August 2021
Eve of The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Monday, 16th August 2021
The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 24th August 2021
St Bartholomew
St Peter flag

September

Wednesday, 8th September 2021
Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 14th September 2021
Holy Cross Day
St Peter flag

Sunday, 19th September 2021
Battle of Britain Sunday
RAF Ensign

Tuesday, 21st September 2021
St Matthew
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 28th September 2021
Eve of St Michael and All Angels
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 29th September 2021
St Michael and All Angels
St Peter flag

October

Monday, 18th October 2021
St Luke
St Peter flag

Thursday, 28th October 2021
Ss Simon and Jude
St Peter flag

Sunday, 31st October 2021
Eve of All Saints’
St Peter flag

November

Monday, 1st November 2021
All Saints’ Day
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 2nd November 2021
All Souls’ Day
St Peter flag

Thursday, 4th November 2021
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Friday, 5th November 2021
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Saturday, 6th November 2021
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Sunday, 7th November 2021
Remembrance Sunday
Union flag

Monday, 8th November 2021
Field of Remembrance - Monday
Union flag

Tuesday, 9th November 2021
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Sunday, 21st November 2021
Christ the King
St Peter flag