Skip to main content

Flag days

The two magnificent west towers, above the Great West Door, were the last major construction work to be carried out on the Abbey, constructed from Portland stone between 1722 and 1745 to a design by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

On top of the north tower sits a flag pole on which the Abbey flies flags - of the Commonwealth Nations, the Flag of St Peter, the Abbey Flag, the Union Flag, the Flags of the National Saints, the Royal Air Force Flag, and the Royal Standard.

west-towers-abbey-flag.jpg

 The Flag of St Peter

Flag of St Peter

Red with a pair of Golden Cross Keys, together with the Ring of St Edward the Confessor. This flag combines the symbols of the two Patron Saints of the Abbey: the ring of St Edward the Confessor, king of England 1043–1066 and founder of the Abbey in 1065; and the keys of St Peter, keeper of the keys to the kingdom of heaven, after whom the Abbey was named when it was re-founded as a Collegiate Church in 1579. It is flown on most Church Festivals, such as the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christmas Day.


The Abbey Flag

Abbey flag

This bears the coat of arms of Westminster Abbey, and is flown during a State Visit on the day when the Head of State visits the Grave of The Unknown Warrior.


Other Flags

The Union Flag is flown on Remembrance Sunday.

The Flags of the National Saints; George, Andrew, and Patrick, are flown on their respective days, and the Welsh Dragon Flag is flown on St David's Day.

The Royal Air Force Flag is flown on the Commemoration of the Battle of Britain.

The Royal Standard is flown whenever the Sovereign is within the Abbey or its Precincts. It is also flown whenever the Sovereign opens Parliament, a privilege granted by King Edward VII.

A National Flag is flown on the day when the High Commission of a Commonwealth member state is represented at Evensong.


Flag day calendar

January

Friday, 25th January 2019
Conversion of St Paul
St Peter flag

February

Friday, 1st February 2019
Eve of Presentation of Christ in the Temple
St Peter flag

Saturday, 2nd February 2019
Presentation of Christ in the Temple
St Peter flag

March

Friday, 1st March 2019
Ash Wednesday
St Peter flag

Saturday, 2nd March 2019
St David’s Day (transferred)
Red Dragon flag

Wednesday, 13th March 2019
Commonwealth Day
Abbey flag and Royal Standard

Sunday, 17th March 2019
St Patrick’s Day
St Patrick flag

Wednesday, 20th March 2019
St Joseph
St Peter flag

Sunday, 24th March 2019
Eve of the Annunciation
St Peter flag

Monday, 25th March 2019
The Annunciation
St Peter flag

Monday, 25th March 2019
Palm Sunday
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 26th March 2019
Holy Week
NO FLAGS

Wednesday, 27th March 2019
Holy Week
NO FLAGS

Thursday, 28th March 2019
Holy Week
NO FLAGS

Friday, 29th March 2019
Holy Week
NO FLAGS

Saturday, 30th March 2019
Holy Week
NO FLAGS

Sunday, 31st March 2019
Easter Eve
St Peter flag

April

Monday, 1st April 2019
Easter Day
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 2nd April 2019
Easter Week
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 3rd April 2019
Easter Week
St Peter flag

Thursday, 4th April 2019
Easter Week
St Peter flag

Friday, 5th April 2019
Easter Week
St Peter flag

Saturday, 6th April 2019
Easter Week
St Peter flag

Sunday, 7th April 2019
Easter Week
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 23rd April 2019
St George
St George flag

May

Wednesday, 1st May 2019
St Philip and St James
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 15th May 2019
St Mathias (transferred)
St Peter flag

There really isn’t a more spectacular building to work on. It’s been one of the most gratifying and rewarding experiences of my life.

spacer

Kevin - Galleries Project Manager

Twitter logo Tweet this