Skip to main content

Westminster Abbey and Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The Abbey remains open for worship and you are welcome to join us at our daily Eucharist service if you are able to travel here safely within current government guidelines.

However, for the time being we are unable to open the Abbey and St Margaret’s Church for general visiting.

Flag days

The two magnificent west towers, above the Great West Door, were the last major construction work to be carried out on the Abbey, constructed from Portland stone between 1722 and 1745 to a design by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

On top of the north tower sits a flag pole on which the Abbey flies flags - of the Commonwealth Nations, the Flag of St Peter, the Abbey Flag, the Union Flag, the Flags of the National Saints, the Royal Air Force Flag, and the Royal Standard.

The West Towers of Westminster Abbey with the Abbey flag flying

 The Flag of St Peter

Flag of St Peter

Red with a pair of Golden Cross Keys, together with the Ring of St Edward the Confessor. This flag combines the symbols of the two Patron Saints of the Abbey: the ring of St Edward the Confessor, king of England 1043–1066 and founder of the Abbey in 1065; and the keys of St Peter, keeper of the keys to the kingdom of heaven, after whom the Abbey was named when it was re-founded as a Collegiate Church in 1579. It is flown on most Church Festivals, such as the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christmas Day.


The Abbey Flag

Abbey flag

This bears the coat of arms of Westminster Abbey, and is flown during a State Visit on the day when the Head of State visits the Grave of The Unknown Warrior.


Other Flags

The Union Flag is flown on Remembrance Sunday.

The Flags of the National Saints; George, Andrew, and Patrick, are flown on their respective days, and the Welsh Dragon Flag is flown on St David's Day.

The Royal Air Force Flag is flown on the Commemoration of the Battle of Britain.

The Royal Standard is flown whenever the Sovereign is within the Abbey or its Precincts. It is also flown whenever the Sovereign opens Parliament, a privilege granted by King Edward VII.

A National Flag is flown on the day when the High Commission of a Commonwealth member state is represented at Evensong.


Flag day calendar

March

Wednesday, 17th March 2021
St Patrick’s Day
St Patrick flag

Friday, 19th March 2021
St Joseph
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 24th March 2021
Eve of the Annunciation
St Peter flag

Thursday, 25th March 2021
The Annunciation
St Peter flag

Sunday, 28th March 2021
Palm Sunday
St Peter flag

Monday, 29th March 2021
Monday of Holy Week
No Flag

Tuesday, 30th March 2021
Tuesday of Holy Week
No Flag

Wednesday, 31st March 2021
Wednesday of Holy Week
No Flag

April

Thursday, 1st April 2021
Maundy Thursday
No Flag

Friday, 2nd April 2021
Good Friday
No Flag

Saturday, 3rd April 2021
Holy Saturday
St Peter flag

Sunday, 4th April 2021
Easter Day
St Peter flag

Monday, 5th April 2021
Monday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 6th April 2021
Tuesday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 7th April 2021
Wednesday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Thursday, 8th April 2021
Thursday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Friday, 9th April 2021
Friday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Saturday, 10th April 2021
Saturday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Friday, 23rd April 2021
St George
St George flag

May

Saturday, 1st May 2021
St Philip and St James
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 12th May 2021
Eve of the Ascension
St Peter flag

Thursday, 13th May 2021
Ascension Day
St Peter flag

Friday, 14th May 2021
St Mathias
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 18th May 2021
Foundation of the Order of the Bath
St Peter flag

Saturday, 22nd May 2021
Eve of Pentecost
St Peter flag

Sunday, 23rd May 2021
Pentecost
St Peter flag

Saturday, 29th May 2021
Eve of Trinity
St Peter flag

Sunday, 30th May 2021
Trinity Sunday
St Peter flag

Monday, 31st May 2021
The Visitation of Our Lady to St Elizabeth
St Peter flag

June

Wednesday, 2nd June 2021
Coronation Day [1953]
St Peter flag

Thursday, 3rd June 2021
Corpus Christi
St Peter flag

Friday, 11th June 2021
St Barnabas
St Peter flag

Thursday, 24th June 2021
The Birth of St John The Baptist
St Peter flag

Monday, 28th June 2021
Eve of St Peter
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 29th June 2021
St Peter
St Peter flag

July

Saturday, 3rd July 2021
St Thomas
St Peter flag

It’s very hard not to be enthusiastic working at the Abbey. If this place doesn’t make you smile I don’t know what will.

Valerie - Foundation Director

Twitter logo Tweet this