Skip to main content

Flag days

The two magnificent west towers, above the Great West Door, were the last major construction work to be carried out on the Abbey, constructed from Portland stone between 1722 and 1745 to a design by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

On top of the north tower sits a flag pole on which the Abbey flies flags - of the Commonwealth Nations, the Flag of St Peter, the Abbey Flag, the Union Flag, the Flags of the National Saints, the Royal Air Force Flag, and the Royal Standard.

The West Towers of Westminster Abbey with the Abbey flag flying

 The Flag of St Peter

Flag of St Peter

Red with a pair of Golden Cross Keys, together with the Ring of St Edward the Confessor. This flag combines the symbols of the two Patron Saints of the Abbey: the ring of St Edward the Confessor, king of England 1043–1066 and founder of the Abbey in 1065; and the keys of St Peter, keeper of the keys to the kingdom of heaven, after whom the Abbey was named when it was re-founded as a Collegiate Church in 1579. It is flown on most Church Festivals, such as the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christmas Day.


The Abbey Flag

Abbey flag

This bears the coat of arms of Westminster Abbey, and is flown during a State Visit on the day when the Head of State visits the Grave of The Unknown Warrior.


Other Flags

The Union Flag is flown on Remembrance Sunday.

The Flags of the National Saints; George, Andrew, and Patrick, are flown on their respective days, and the Welsh Dragon Flag is flown on St David's Day.

The Royal Air Force Flag is flown on the Commemoration of the Battle of Britain.

The Royal Standard is flown whenever the Sovereign is within the Abbey or its Precincts. It is also flown whenever the Sovereign opens Parliament, a privilege granted by King Edward VII.

A National Flag is flown on the day when the High Commission of a Commonwealth member state is represented at Evensong.


Flag day calendar

July

Saturday, 20th July 2019
St Margaret
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 23rd July 2019
St Mary Magdalene
St Peter flag

Thursday, 25th July 2019
St James
St Peter flag

August

Tuesday, 6th August 2019
The Transfiguration of Our Lord
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 14th August 2019
Eve of The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Thursday, 15th August 2019
The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Saturday, 24th August 2019
St Bartholomew
St Peter flag

September

Sunday, 8th September 2019
Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Saturday, 14th September 2019
Holy Cross Day
St Peter flag

Monday, 16th September 2019
Battle of Britain Sunday
RAF Ensign

Saturday, 21st September 2019
St Matthew
St Peter flag

Saturday, 28th September 2019
Eve of St Michael and All Angels
St Peter flag

Sunday, 29th September 2019
St Michael and All Angels
St Peter flag

October

Friday, 18th October 2019
St Luke
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 29th October 2019
Ss Simon and Jude
St Peter flag

Thursday, 31st October 2019
Eve of All Saints’
St Peter flag

November

Friday, 1st November 2019
All Saints’ Day
St Peter flag

Saturday, 2nd November 2019
All Souls’ Day
St Peter flag

Thursday, 7th November 2019
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Friday, 8th November 2019
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Saturday, 9th November 2019
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Sunday, 10th November 2019
Field of Remembrance
Union flag

Monday, 11th November 2019
Remembrance Sunday
Royal Standard

Wednesday, 13th November 2019
Field of Remembrance & Remembrance Sunday
Union flag

It’s very hard not to be enthusiastic working at the Abbey. If this place doesn’t make you smile I don’t know what will.

spacer

Valerie - Foundation Director

Twitter logo Tweet this