Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can usually be heard before services and in celebration of church festivals and royal occasions.

See the Abbey bells page for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

May

Thursday, 19th May 2022
Election of The Lord Mayor of Westminster
the bells of Westminster Abbey will be rung at 1.00 pm to mark the election of the new Lord Mayor of Westminster

Saturday, 21st May 2022
Charter Day, 1560
from noon

Tuesday, 24th May 2022
The Order of the Bath
the Abbey bells are rung following the special service at about 12.15 pm

Thursday, 26th May 2022
Ascension Day
following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

June

Thursday, 2nd June 2022
Coronation Day, 1953
from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 4th June 2022
Wedding
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung following the 3.00 pm wedding

Sunday, 5th June 2022
The Day of Pentecost
the Abbey bells are rung at about 12.30 pm following the Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 5th June 2022
The Queen's Platinum Jubilee
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 2.20 pm to herald the arrival and passage of the royal carriage procession through Parliament Square and into Whitehall

Wednesday, 8th June 2022
Thanksgiving for the Benefact Group
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 4.00 pm following the servive of thanksgiving for the Benefact Group

Thursday, 9th June 2022
Evensong, giving thanks for the life and work of Desmond Tutu
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 6.00 pm following Evensong

Friday, 10th June 2022
The Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

Sunday, 12th June 2022
The Sovereign's Official Birthday
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 4.00 pm following Evensong

Wednesday, 15th June 2022
40th anniversary of the Falklands War
the bells of St Margaret's church will be rung at about 2.00 pm following the special service

Wednesday, 22nd June 2022
Thanksgiving for Lord Burghley
following the special service at about 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 29th June 2022
St Peter, apostle, martyr, and patron of Westminster Abbey
following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

July

Sunday, 3rd July 2022
Civic Sunday
the Abbey bells are rung at about noon, following Matins attended by The Lord Mayor of Westminster in civic state

Wednesday, 6th July 2022
Westminster School Election Day
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 11.00 am

Saturday, 9th July 2022
Wedding
the bells of St Margaret's Church will be rung at about 3.00 pm following the wedding

Wednesday, 20th July 2022
St Margaret of Antioch
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

October

Monday, 3rd October 2022
The Judges' Service
following the service at about noon

Tuesday, 4th October 2022
The Lord Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 8th October 2022
The fiftieth anniversary of the Prayer Book Society
following the special service at about 1.00 pm

Thursday, 13th October 2022
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
a full peal is rung from 1.00 pm, and following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Sunday, 16th October 2022
The Dedication of Westminster Abbey, 1269
following Evensong at about 4.00 pm

November

Tuesday, 1st November 2022
All Saints' Day
following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Wednesday, 2nd November 2022
The Commemoration of the Faithful Departed (All Souls' Day)
the bells are rung half-muffled following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Thursday, 10th November 2022
The Opening of the Field of Remembrance
The bells of St Margaret's church are rung half-muffled following the ceremony at about noon