Skip to main content

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

November

Sunday, 17th November 2019
Foundation Day (Anniversary of the Accession of Queen Elizabeth I, 1558)
From 12.30 pm

Wednesday, 20th November 2019
72nd Wedding Anniversary of HM The Queen and HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 30th November 2019
St Andrew’s Day
following the 3.00 pm

December

Wednesday, 25th December 2019
Christmas Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Friday, 27th December 2019
St John's Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

January

Wednesday, 1st January 2020
New Year’s Day
From 1.00 pm

Monday, 6th January 2020
The Epiphany of Our Lord
Following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Thursday, 9th January 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 25th January 2020
The Conversion of St Paul
Following the 3.00 pm Evensong

February

Sunday, 2nd February 2020
The Presentation of Christ in the Temple
Following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

Thursday, 6th February 2020
Accession Day
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 19th February 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duke of York
from 1.00 pm

March

Monday, 2nd March 2020
St David’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Tuesday, 10th March 2020
Birthday of HRH The Earl of Wessex
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 11th March 2020
Commonwealth Day
Before and after 3.15 pm Observance

Tuesday, 17th March 2020
St Patrick’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Wednesday, 25th March 2020
The Annunciation of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

April

Sunday, 12th April 2020
Easter Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Saturday, 18th April 2020
Royal School of Church Music Festival
Following the 3.00 pm Evensong

Tuesday, 21st April 2020
Birthday of Her Majesty The Queen
From 1.00 pm

Thursday, 23rd April 2020
St George’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Thursday, 23rd April 2020
Birthday of Prince Louis of Cambridge
Subsumed into St George's Day ringing

Saturday, 25th April 2020
ANZAC Day
following the noon service

Saturday, 25th April 2020
St Mark’s Day
subsumed into ANZAC Day ringing

May

Saturday, 2nd May 2020
Birthday of HRH Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Friday, 8th May 2020
75th Anniversary of VE Day

Friday, 15th May 2020
Florence Nightingale
following the noon service

The work can be tough, but even the cold and rain don’t bother me as I enjoy it so much. I love every day that I spend at the Abbey – just being here makes me smile.

spacer

Tim - Gardener

Twitter logo Tweet this