Skip to main content

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

bell-chamber.jpg

 

Bell ringing calendar

January

Friday, 18th January 2019
400th anniversary of Alleyn's School
following to 2.30 pm service

Friday, 25th January 2019
The Conversion of St Paul
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Thursday, 31st January 2019
Memorial to The Lord Carrington
following the noon service

February

Friday, 1st February 2019
Eve of the Presentation of Christ in the Temple
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Wednesday, 6th February 2019
Accession Day
From 1.00 pm

Tuesday, 19th February 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duke of York
from 1.00 pm

March

Friday, 1st March 2019
St David’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 10th March 2019
Birthday of HRH The Earl of Wessex
From 12.30 pm

Monday, 11th March 2019
Commonwealth Day
Before and after 3.15 pm Observance

Monday, 18th March 2019
St Patrick’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Monday, 25th March 2019
The Annunciation of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

April

Sunday, 21st April 2019
Easter Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 21st April 2019
Birthday of Her Majesty The Queen
subsumed into ringing for Easter Day

Tuesday, 23rd April 2019
Birthday of Prince Louis of Cambridge
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 25th April 2019
ANZAC Day
following the noon service

Monday, 29th April 2019
St George’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Tuesday, 30th April 2019
St Mark’s Day (transferred)
following the 5.00 pm Evensong

May

Thursday, 2nd May 2019
Birthday of HRH Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 15th May 2019
Florence Nightingale
following the noon service

Friday, 17th May 2019
Centenary of women in policing
following the noon service

Monday, 20th May 2019
Charter Day
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 23rd May 2019
Westminster Hospital
following the noon service

Thursday, 30th May 2019
Ascension Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

June

Sunday, 2nd June 2019
Coronation Day
from 12.30 pm

Saturday, 8th June 2019
The Sovereign’s Official Birthday
From noon

Sunday, 9th June 2019
Day of Pentecost
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Monday, 10th June 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 20th June 2019
Corpus Christi
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Friday, 21st June 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Monday, 24th June 2019
The Birth of St John the Baptist
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Friday, 28th June 2019
Eve of St Peter's Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

July

Wednesday, 3rd July 2019
Election Day, Westminster School
From 11.00 am

Sunday, 7th July 2019
Civic Sunday 
Following the 11.00 am Matins

At different times of the day, or in different seasons, the light falling in the Abbey will light up something that you have walked past a million times and never seen before.

spacer

Vanessa, Head of Conservation

Twitter logo Tweet this