Skip to main content

Westminster Abbey and Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The Abbey is not currently open for public worship, general visiting or private prayer. Meanwhile, the community of Abbey clergy are continuing to worship and pray, in-line with government guidance. They are also producing a podcast to mark key liturgical events.

Find out more

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

June

Tuesday, 2nd June 2020
Coronation Day
from 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 10th June 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
from 1.00 pm

Thursday, 11th June 2020
Corpus Christi
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Saturday, 13th June 2020
The Sovereign’s Official Birthday
From noon

Sunday, 21st June 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Cambridge
From 12.30 pm

Wednesday, 24th June 2020
The Birth of St John the Baptist
Following the 5.00 pm Evening Prayer

Monday, 29th June 2020
St Peter's Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

July

Sunday, 5th July 2020
Civic Sunday 
following the 11.00 am Matins

Friday, 17th July 2020
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cornwall
from 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 22nd July 2020
Birthday of HRH Prince George of Cambridge
from 1.00 pm

August

Friday, 14th August 2020
Eve of the Blessed Virgin Mary
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Saturday, 15th August 2020
Birthday of HRH The Princess Royal
from 12.30 pm

September

Monday, 21st September 2020
St Matthew’s Day
following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Tuesday, 29th September 2020
St Michael and All Angels
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

October

Thursday, 1st October 2020
The Judges’ Service
following the 11.30 am service

Tuesday, 13th October 2020
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
full peal at 1.00 pm, and following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 18th October 2020
Dedication of Westminster Abbey
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 18th October 2020
London Mayors' Evensong
following the 3.00 pm service

Monday, 19th October 2020
St Luke’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5:00 pm Evensong

November

Sunday, 1st November 2020
All Saints’ Day
following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

Monday, 2nd November 2020
All Souls’ Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist, half-muffled

Sunday, 8th November 2020
Remembrance Sunday
following the 3.00 pm Evensong, half-muffled

Saturday, 14th November 2020
Birthday of HRH The Prince of Wales
From 1.00 pm

Tuesday, 17th November 2020
Foundation Day (Anniversary of the Accession of Queen Elizabeth I, 1558)
from 1.00 pm

Friday, 20th November 2020
73rd Wedding Anniversary of HM The Queen and HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
from 1.00 pm

Tuesday, 24th November 2020
Inauguration of the General Synod
before and after the 10.45 am service

Monday, 30th November 2020
St Andrew’s Day
following the 5.00 pm Evensong

I feel very privileged to work here. I take so much pride in working for a beautiful place like the Abbey, it’s unique.

Alex - Abbey Marshal

Twitter logo Tweet this