Skip to main content

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days.

Abbey bells


Bell ringing calendar

November

Thursday, 1st November 2018
All Saints’ Day
Following 5.00 pm Eucharist

Friday, 2nd November 2018
All Souls’ Day
Following the 5.00 pm Requiem, half-muffled

Sunday, 11th November 2018
Remembrance Sunday
Following the evening service, time TBC

Wednesday, 14th November 2018
Birthday of HRH The Prince of Wales
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 17th November 2018
Foundation Day [Anniversary of the Accession of Queen Elizabeth I, 1558]
From 12.30 pm

Tuesday, 20th November 2018
71st Wedding Anniversary of HM The Queen and HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
From 1.00 pm

Friday, 30th November 2018
St Andrew’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

December

Tuesday, 25th December 2018
Christmas Day
Following the 10.30am Eucharist

Thursday, 27th December 2018
St John the Evangelist’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

January

Tuesday, 1st January 2019
New Year’s Day
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 5th January 2019
Eve of the Epiphany
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

Wednesday, 9th January 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Friday, 25th January 2019
Conversion of St Paul
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

February

Saturday, 2nd February 2019
Presentation of Christ in the Temple
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

Wednesday, 6th February 2019
Accession Day [1952]
From 1.00 pm

Tuesday, 19th February 2019
Birthday of HRH The Duke of York
From 12.30 pm

March

Saturday, 2nd March 2019
St David’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 10th March 2019
Birthday of HRH The Earl of Wessex
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 13th March 2019
Commonwealth Day
Before and after 3.15 pm Observance

Sunday, 17th March 2019
St Patrick’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 24th March 2019
Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

April

Monday, 1st April 2019
Easter Day
Following the 10.30 am Eucharist

You are surrounded by history at the Abbey, not like a museum where it’s just displayed, but here you are standing where history has happened.

spacer

Gerlinde - Abbey Marshal

Twitter logo Tweet this