Skip to main content

Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

Abbey bells

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days.


May

Friday, 25th May 2018
Ascension Day
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

Thursday, 31st May 2018
Corpus Christi
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

June

Saturday, 2nd June 2018
Coronation Day [1953]
From 1.00 pm

Thursday, 7th June 2018
Service of Thanksgiving for the Life and Work of Ronnie Corbett
Following 12 noon service

Sunday, 10th June 2018
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
From 12.30 pm

Sunday, 17th June 2018
The Sovereign’s Official Birthday
From Noon

Thursday, 21st June 2018
Birthday of HRH The Duke of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Sunday, 24th June 2018
Birth of St John the Baptist
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Friday, 29th June 2018
St Peter’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

July

Monday, 2nd July 2018
Civic Sunday 
Following the 11.00 am service

Thursday, 5th July 2018
Election Day - Westminster School
Time tbc

Tuesday, 17th July 2018
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cornwall
From 1.00 pm

Sunday, 22nd July 2018
Birthday of Prince George of Cambridge
From 12.30 pm

August

Wednesday, 15th August 2018
Blessed Virgin Mary
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

Wednesday, 15th August 2018
Birthday of HRH The Princess Royal
Subsumed into BVM ringing

September

Monday, 17th September 2018
Battle of Britain Sunday
Following the 11.00 am service

Friday, 21st September 2018
St Matthew’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Saturday, 29th September 2018
Michaelmas Day
Following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

October

Tuesday, 2nd October 2018
The Judges’ Service
Following the 11.30 am service

Saturday, 13th October 2018
Translation - St Edward, King and Confessor 1269
Peal 1.00 pm and following the 5.00 pm Eucharist

Monday, 15th October 2018
Feast of Dedication
Following the 10.30 am Eucharist

Monday, 15th October 2018
London Mayors attending Evensong
Following 3:00 pm service

Thursday, 18th October 2018
St Luke’s Day
Following the 5:00 pm Evensong

November

Thursday, 1st November 2018
All Saints’ Day
Following 5.00 pm Eucharist

Friday, 2nd November 2018
All Souls’ Day
Following the 5.00 pm Requiem, half-muffled

Sunday, 11th November 2018
Remembrance Sunday
Following the 10.30 am service, half-muffled

Wednesday, 14th November 2018
Birthday of HRH The Prince of Wales
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 17th November 2018
Foundation Day [Anniversary of the Accession of Queen Elizabeth I, 1558]
From 1.00 pm

I’ve worked here for over thirty years and have seen many of the major services - it’s strange to realise that you are in a small way part of history.

spacer

Pamela - Rector's Secretary

Twitter logo Tweet this