News archive

An archive of news stories from Westminster Abbey, dating from 2003 to the present day.

Musicians celebrated at St Cecilia service

Musicians celebrated at St Cecilia service

Wednesday, 23rd November 2022

South African President visits the Abbey

South African President visits the Abbey

Tuesday, 22nd November 2022

Two men wearing face coverings placing a stone plate into the floor

The Abbey joins the Cathedrals’ Workshop Fellowship

Thursday, 17th November 2022

The Queen Consort receives a cross of remembrance from a member of the Armed Forces.

The Queen Consort opens the Field of Remembrance 2022

Thursday, 10th November 2022

The Princess of Wales, Kate Middleton, on the pavement outside the Abbey with choir singers in the background. Christmas trees are behind the singers

Royal Christmas Carol Service to take place at Westminster Abbey

Friday, 4th November 2022

The clock tower of St Margaret's Church, Westminster

A national service to celebrate 12 Step Recovery

Tuesday, 25th October 2022

The high Altar on the Abbey. A gold-gilded panel is at the back and an altar and candlesticks appear in front.

The King: coronation date set for Saturday 6th May 2023

Tuesday, 11th October 2022

Trees of life service takes place at the Abbey

Trees of life service takes place at the Abbey

Tuesday, 11th October 2022

Judges in red robes and legal wigs reading from hymn sheets

Judges mark the start of the 2022 legal year

Monday, 3rd October 2022

Consecration of new Bishop at Westminster Abbey

Consecration of new Bishop at Westminster Abbey

Thursday, 29th September 2022

Abbey documentary series to air on Channel 5

Abbey documentary series to air on Channel 5

Wednesday, 21st September 2022

The State Funeral of HM Queen Elizabeth II

The State Funeral of HM Queen Elizabeth II

Monday, 19th September 2022

HM Queen Elizabeth II meeting choristers outside the Abbey. She is wearing a blue outfit and carrying a bouquet as she stands next to the Dean of Westminster

Order of Service for the State Funeral published

Sunday, 18th September 2022

The Queen’s funeral to be held at Westminster Abbey

The Queen’s funeral to be held at Westminster Abbey

Saturday, 10th September 2022

Queen Elizabeth II smiling. She is wearing a burgundy hat and a burgundy jacket

Westminster Abbey sends condolences to His Majesty The King on the death of Queen Elizabeth II

Thursday, 8th September 2022