News archive

An archive of news stories from Westminster Abbey, dating from 2003 to the present day.

A large globe featuring a sea, tree and cherubs in the sky

The Abbey welcomes The World Reimagined globes

Thursday, 11th August 2022

In the centre is the Virgin Mary, seated and cradling her son. On either side of the figures are two ships. The first is that which carried St Augustine and his monks to England in the sixth century, bringing with them the Christian faith; and the second is the Windrush, which brought many who renewed the faith in the areas where they settled. The side panels depict St Michael the Archangel, St George the Martyr, St John, St Martin de Porres (patron saint of racial justice) and St Josephine Bakh

Our Lady of the Windrush icon on display at the Abbey

Monday, 18th July 2022

Andrew Nethsingha appointed Organist and Master of the Choristers

Andrew Nethsingha appointed Organist and Master of the Choristers

Tuesday, 5th July 2022

Abbey welcomes new Lord Mayor of Westminster

Abbey welcomes new Lord Mayor of Westminster

Tuesday, 5th July 2022

New Mass setting to premiere on St Peter’s Day

New Mass setting to premiere on St Peter’s Day

Thursday, 23rd June 2022

Lord Burghley’s legacy celebrated

Lord Burghley’s legacy celebrated

Wednesday, 22nd June 2022

Abbey receives support from the Cathedral Music Trust

Abbey receives support from the Cathedral Music Trust

Wednesday, 15th June 2022

Abbey marks anniversary of Grenfell tragedy

Abbey marks anniversary of Grenfell tragedy

Tuesday, 14th June 2022

The Reverend Nontombi Naomi Tutu, Archbishop Tutu’s daughter, giving an Address.

Archbishop Desmond Tutu remembered at Choral Evensong

Friday, 10th June 2022

Benefact Group celebrates support for good causes

Benefact Group celebrates support for good causes

Thursday, 9th June 2022

The grey and gold organ pipes in Westminster Abbey

Abbey seeks new Organist and Master of the Choristers

Thursday, 26th May 2022

HRH Prince Charles in a red cope

Abbey welcomes HRH The Prince of Wales to Bath service

Tuesday, 24th May 2022

Former Organist Simon Preston smiling

Abbey mourns former Organist and Master of the Choristers

Monday, 16th May 2022

Rolls of Honour in front of a lamp that has a flame at the spout

Florence Nightingale remembered at annual service

Thursday, 12th May 2022