News archive

An archive of news stories from Westminster Abbey, dating from 2003 to the present day.

Roger Bannister completing the 4-minute mile

Westminster Abbey to honour Sir Roger Bannister

Thursday, 22nd July 2021

Four Knights Grand Cross  installed in Bath chapel

Four Knights Grand Cross installed in Bath chapel

Tuesday, 20th July 2021

External view of Westminster Abbey with a magenta colouring

Lost medieval sacristy opens to public for Summer Festival of events

Friday, 9th July 2021

A display in the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Galleries

Explore Christianity in 10 objects

Tuesday, 6th July 2021

The south side of the Abbey, which features a stained-glass window

Free entry to the Abbey for NHS staff as summer visiting hours are announced

Friday, 25th June 2021

The Reverend Robert Latham appointed  Minor Canon and Sacrist

The Reverend Robert Latham appointed Minor Canon and Sacrist

Sunday, 20th June 2021

Students celebrate inspirational figures

Students celebrate inspirational figures

Tuesday, 15th June 2021

A service as seen from behind the Reverend and altar

Digital Order of Service now available

Friday, 11th June 2021

Choir singing during a socially distanced service

Radio 3 to broadcast Choral Evensong from the Abbey

Monday, 24th May 2021

Westminster Abbey is open to visitors once again

Westminster Abbey is open to visitors once again

Friday, 21st May 2021

Westminster Abbey's Dean Hoyle with Sir Kenneth Olisa

Lord-Lieutenant of London installed as High Bailiff

Tuesday, 18th May 2021

Westminster Abbey to hold Memorial Woodland service

Westminster Abbey to hold Memorial Woodland service

Sunday, 16th May 2021

Evensong to be streamed live from the Abbey on Sunday

Evensong to be streamed live from the Abbey on Sunday

Friday, 14th May 2021

Prime Minister attends Abbey Nightingale service

Prime Minister attends Abbey Nightingale service

Wednesday, 12th May 2021

Speaker’s Chaplain installed as Canon of Westminster

Speaker’s Chaplain installed as Canon of Westminster

Monday, 10th May 2021