News archive

An archive of news stories from Westminster Abbey, dating from 2003 to the present day.

A picture of Bob Reiss, who is wearing a red cassock and black cover. He is smiling and standing in the nave.

Former Sub-Dean Canon Robert Reiss dies aged 80

Monday, 30th January 2023

The clock tower of St Margaret's Church, Westminster

Archbishop Angaelos leads annual Day of Prayer 2023

Wednesday, 4th January 2023

James O'Donnell smiling along with King Charles outside Westminster Abbey

James O‘Donnell honoured in New Year list

Monday, 2nd January 2023

His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI remembered

His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI remembered

Saturday, 31st December 2022

A Christmas message from the Dean of Westminster

A Christmas message from the Dean of Westminster

Sunday, 25th December 2022

Prince William, Kate Middleton, Prince George, Princess Charlotte, King Charles and the Dean of Westminster. A Christmas tree can be seen in the background

Queen Elizabeth II remembered during Royal carol service

Saturday, 24th December 2022

HRH Princess of Wales dedicates Abbey tree

HRH Princess of Wales dedicates Abbey tree

Tuesday, 20th December 2022

The nativity scene featuring Mary, Joseph, the baby Jesus, animals and wise men. A Christmas tree can be seen in the background

Christmas special for Abbey documentary series

Tuesday, 6th December 2022

Musicians celebrated at St Cecilia service

Musicians celebrated at St Cecilia service

Wednesday, 23rd November 2022

South African President visits the Abbey

South African President visits the Abbey

Tuesday, 22nd November 2022

Two men wearing face coverings placing a stone plate into the floor

The Abbey joins the Cathedrals’ Workshop Fellowship

Thursday, 17th November 2022

The Queen Consort receives a cross of remembrance from a member of the Armed Forces.

The Queen Consort opens the Field of Remembrance 2022

Thursday, 10th November 2022

The Princess of Wales, Kate Middleton, on the pavement outside the Abbey with choir singers in the background. Christmas trees are behind the singers

Royal Christmas Carol Service to take place at Westminster Abbey

Friday, 4th November 2022