Skip to main content

Fellows' programme

Westminster Abbey Institute offers a year-long programme in public service for up to 20 public servants, nominated from Parliament, law, teaching, police, Armed Forces, Civil Service, media, clergy, arts, science, academia and medicine, who are moving into senior roles.

Group photo of Westminster Abbey Institute Fellows

How to apply

Download the 2019 application form which gives information about the nature and purpose of the programme, criteria for nominations, and programme details for 2019-2020. Candidates are usually nominated by their employing organisations. Should you need further information about being nominated please contact the Institute.

Contact us

Kathleen James, Manager
020 7654 4963
[email protected]

Current programme members

Paul Brummell - Head of the Soft Power and External Affairs Department, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Davina Cameron Gale - History teacher, The Grey Coat Hospital

Damien Dacey - Deputy Director, Department of Exiting the European Union

Rachel Davies Teka - Head of Advocacy, Transparency International UK

David Fugurally - Senior Policy Advisor and Head of the Collaborative Fund, Department for Education

Libby Kurien - Clerk, Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee, House of Commons

Julia Lopez MP

Charlie MacDermot-Roe LVO - Head of HR, The Royal Household

Reverend Anna Macham - Priest-in-Charge of St Philip’s, Camberwell

Rebecca Mitchell - Junior Barrister - Family and Child Law, 1GC

Noel Murphy - Senior Lawyer, Department for Exiting the European Union, Government Legal Department

Aidan Naughton - Head Portfolio and Programmes, Technology Command/Portfolio and Programmes, National Crime Agency

Roya Nikkhah - Royal Correspondent, The Sunday Times

Chris Porter - Director of Forensic Services, Metropolitan Police Service (MPS)

Lieutenant Colonel Lloyd Pritchard MBE - Royal Navy, Royal Marines, Ministry of Defence

Jonathan Smith - Head of Finance, House of Lords

Alasdair Tait - Chief Executive, Young Classical Artists Trust

Dr Elizabeth Tunbridge - Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Alison Wragg - Head of Occupational Therapy & Service Manager for Psychological Therapies, Central & North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Graduated fellows


The Ven Elizabeth Adekunle - Archdeacon of Hackney and Chaplain to Her Majesty the Queen, Diocese of London

Caroline Creer - Secretariat Director, Private Secretary's Office, Buckingham Palace

Tom Dannatt - CEO & Founder, Street Child

Prof Adam Dinham - Professor of Faith & Public Policy & Head of Research, Goldsmiths, University of London

Josh Harris - Ordinand, Ridley Hall, Cambridge

Peter Howitt - Director of System Redesign, Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes Integrated Care System, Department of Health & Social Care

Jessica Lee - Barrister, 1GC

Dr Chloë Reddaway - Research Fellow, Arts and the Sacred, KCL

Saira Salimi - Speaker's Counsel, House of Commons

Clare Salters - Portfolio career, ranging from music teaching to judicial appointments

Dr Alison Thomas - Consultant Haematologist, St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Rebecca Vaughan - Senior Producer, BBC News at Six & Ten

Helen Whiteoak - Head of Programmes & Engagement, National Portrait Gallery

Ben Wilson - Director of Communications and Public Affairs, Goldsmiths, University of London

Caroline Winter - Team Leader, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Rapela Zaman - Director of International Affairs, The Royal Society


Dr Chris Adams - Account Manager, Public Affairs Team, Four Communications

Dr Emily Baldock - Deputy Head of the Parliamentary Security Department, House of Commons

Dawn Butler MP

T/Detective Chief Superintendent Stephen Clayman, Metropolitan Police Service

Antony Garvey - Senior Producer, BBC News at Ten

Major Luke Hoare - Apache Attack, Helicopter Squadron Commander

Jane Hough - Head of Business Planning & Performance, House of Commons

Adam Irwin - Director, Global Investigations, Arcanum

Charlie Lang - Deputy Director, Department for Education

Dr Lucian Leustean - Reader in Politics and International Relations, Aston University

Reverend Alexandra Lilley - Priest in Charge, St George & All Saints Tufnell Park

Claire Macmillen - Deputy Director, Clean Energy Legal, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

Zoë O'Sullivan QC - One Essex Court

Dr Sarah Perkins – Director, GW4 Alliance

Victoria Prentis MP

Shamailla Rashid - Senior HR Professional, Government Actuary’s Department & BFI

Christopher Sandamas - Membership Administration Manager, The Royal Legion

Richard Sargeant - Chief Commercial Officer, ASI Data Science

Tom Tolfree - Chief Economist at the Infrastructure & Projects Authority, Cabinet Office and Treasury

Dr Emma Woods - Head of Policy, The Royal Society


Dr Katharine Bailey - Consultant Haematologist, The Hillingdon Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Clinical Research Fellow, UCL

Dr Andrew Blick - Senior Lecturer in Politics and Contemporary History and Director, Centre for British Politics and Government, KCL

Ian Clarke QC, Chair of the Inns’ of Court Committee, Selborne Chambers

Ben Cooper – Controller, BBC Radio 1, 1Xtra and Asian Network

John Fitzpatrick - Head of Devolution Settlements Division, Constitution Group, Cabinet Office

Dt Sup Treena Fleming - Metropolitan Police Service

Charlotte Fox - Head of Faculty, Harris Westminster Sixth Form

Martin John - Deputy Director, IPA Operations, Cabinet Office

Reverend Canon Dr Rosemarie Mallett – Vicar, St John's Angell Town

Jenny McCartney - Journalist

Lt Col Doug Pennefather - Royal Marines

Dr Becky Purvis - Head of Public Affairs, The Royal Society

Talitha Rowland - Deputy Director, Parliamentary Business and Legislation, Cabinet Office

Adam Thompson - NCA Vulnerabilities Command, Modern Slavery & Human Trafficking Unit, NCA

Dr Edge Watchorn - Director of Strategy, Participation, Houses of Parliament

Daniel Whiteley - WAI Consultant, Westminster Abbey Institute


Xenia Angevin - Head of Research and Government Liaison, The Royal Household

Steve Bennett - Head of Communications Collection, NCA

Commander Stuart Finn - Royal Navy, MoD

Dr Emma Fosbury - Consultant Haematologist, St George's University Hospital, London

Marcus Fysh MP

Daniel Hobbs – Director, Windrush Compensation, Home Office

Sarah Jones - Clerk of Select Committees, House of Lords

Jack Palmer-White - Permanent Representative to the United Nations, The Anglican Communion

Dr Lorenzo Pasculli - Assistant Professor in Law, Coventry University; Sessional Lecturer in Conflict, Crime and Justice, Imperial College London

Daniel Pearl - VP, Viacom; Commissioning Editor, Factual, Channel 5

Rev Canon Malcolm Rogers - Vicar of Huyton Quarry and The Bishop of Liverpool's Canon For Reconciliation, St Gabriel's

Commander Catherine Roper - Professional Standards, Metropolitan Police Service

Barbara Speed - Duty news editor, i paper

Tristan Stone - Head of Wilberforce House and Teacher of Philosophy and Theology, Harris Westminster Sixth Form

Fay Tennet - Deputy Director of Security Operations, Houses of Parliament

Fleur Thomas - Head of Exports Policy, MoD

Jonathan Tod – Barrister, 29 Bedford Row Chambers

Carl Warner - Acting Assistant Director, Narrative and Head, Cold War and late twentieth-century conflict, Imperial War Museum

Polly Williams - Head of Scientific Programmes, The Royal Society

I’ve worked here for over thirty years and have seen many of the major services - it’s strange to realise that you are in a small way part of history.


Pamela - Rector's Secretary

Twitter logo Tweet this