Skip to main content

Canon Sagovsky appointed Sub-Dean

Friday, 1st October 2010

Canon Sagovsky appointed Sub-Dean

The Reverend Dr Nicholas Sagovsky, Canon Theologian of Westminster Abbey, has been appointed Sub-Dean.

The Dean of Westminster, the Very Reverend Dr John Hall, said today:

The position of Sub-Dean, vacant by the resignation of Canon Robert Wright, can be held by any of the Canons and is in the Dean's gift.
I have invited Canon Nicholas Sagovsky to take the position of Sub-Dean and am pleased to announce today that he has kindly accepted my invitation. He will hold the position until he resigns his Canonry in January 2011.

The four Canons of Westminster who together with me form the governing body of Westminster Abbey, the Dean & Chapter, each have particular roles and responsibilities of their own, to which they are reappointed by vote of the Dean & Chapter annually: Canon Sagovsky is Canon Theologian, Canon Reiss is Canon Treasurer and Almoner, Canon Hedges is Canon Steward.

Canon Wright has for the last period also held the position of Archdeacon of Westminster; the vacancy will be filled at the next meeting of the Dean & Chapter.

Canon Andrew Tremlett becomes a Canon of Westminster on 9th October and will be installed as Rector in St Margaret's Church on 10 October, in succession to Canon Wright.

The Dean also announced that Canon Robert Wright has been appointed a Canon Emeritus of Westminster.

I feel very privileged to work here. I take so much pride in working for a beautiful place like the Abbey, it’s unique.


Alex - Abbey Marshal

Twitter logo Tweet this