Service for the New Parliament at St Margaret's Church

Tuesday, 9th June 2015

Service for the New Parliament at St Margaret's Church

The Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Reverend and Right Honourable Justin Welby, Primate of All England and Metropolitan, gave the Address at Service for a New Parliament at St Margaret's Church, Westminster Abbey on Tuesday 9th June 2015.

The service, which was attended by 250 MPs and peers, was conducted by the Venerable Andrew Tremlett, Rector of St Margaret's and Sub-Dean of Westminster Abbey , and the Reverend Prebendary Rose Hudson-Wilkin, Chaplain to the Speaker of the House of Commons. 

The Right Honourable The Baroness D'Souza, the Lord Speaker, read Jeremiah 29: 10-14; and the Right Honourable John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons, read St John 13: 1-14. 

Prayers were led by Canon Pat Browne, Roman Catholic Duty Priest to the Houses of Parliament and said by the Right Honourable Jeffrey Donaldson MP; the Right Honourable Caroline Spelman MP; Ian Blackford MP; Jonathan Edwards MP; The Baroness Brinton; Mark Harris, Christian in Parliament All Party Parliamentary Group; and Daw Butler MP.

The service was sung by the Choir of St Margaret's conducted by Aidan Oliver, Director of Music. The organ was played by Thomas Trotter.

The Order of Service

Read the Sermon Transcript